If Mama Were Here

If Mama were here, I would not be as star-crossed as working my ass off just to hang out a shingle and make a name for myself.

If Mama were here, I would not have developed scars because she wouldn’t have allowed anything to bruise me.

If Mama were here, I would not have worries but reassurance to gleefully bask in the summer sunshine with her.

If Mama were here, I would have a cornucopia of reasons to smile every fleeting day.

But . . .

If Mama were here, I would not have become a stalwart as what years of perseverance and hard work made me to be.

If Mama were here, I would not have been able to deduce what independence means and actually translate it into action.

If Mama were here, I would not have learned how to take responsibility because she would have willingly taken that burden off my shoulders.

If Mama were here, I would never be defeated because I would never have any reason to give battle.

(Mama, I finally understood why you took off as early as the cock-crow of my childhood. God needed you there, and although we needed you here as well, there are lessons that ought to be learned the hard way.) 

Happy Mother’s Day, Mama! Till we meet again.


Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

