Animé Character of the Day: RAN MOURI

When I was a kid, I wanted to be many things. Being a black belt in Karate was one of them. Way back in high school, I remember walking home from school, passing by that Karate club on the second floor of a glass-walled building. And while they were doing their daily routines, my friends and I used to stop by and watch them from afar. I remember going to the second floor of that building alone just to watch them up close, and oh how elated I was while daydreaming to be in that same room, doing the same stunts with those cool people. The class ranged from grade schoolers to high schoolers, so I thought I’d be a perfect fit.

Unfortunately though, that dream was reduced to one of the residents of my gargantuan heap of what ifs. There are just things we can only dream of and not have no matter how strongly we want them. But my fascination for the Karate martial arts never faded one bit. I still admire people with such high ranks in the martial arts because they exude strength and technique. They can always defend themselves when presented with danger. And they can always defend others, putting them out of harm’s way. They can achieve something that ordinary people can only try and surmise. They can be real super heroes. I am yet to meet a black belt in Karate, and the thought of that day coming sends a quiver of excitement down my spine.

In the advent of my strong inclination to anime, I started liking male protagonists of shonen because I just don’t have patience with the silly female protagonists of shojo and their unrelenting tomfoolery. Perhaps because anime came late into my life (I was already in College then) that sappy female protagonists usually escape me. Until I knew Ran Mouri.

Ran Mouri (毛利 蘭, Mouri Ran) is the main female protagonist of the anime and manga series Detective Conan (名探偵コナン, Meitantei Konan), one of my favorite animes of all time. She’s in high school and the beautiful girl friend of the main protagonist Shinichi Kudo, a high school detective. Although she’s a lady whom you could consider prim and proper, she’s got something up her sleeve that even males her senior don’t have. She’s captain of her school’s karate team, and she has won several tournaments and brought home countless trophies. At first glance, you’d never think someone as sweet and charming as her would be as strong and powerful. She’s very strong to the point that she can break a stone with ease.

During detective missions, since her father is also a detective, her skill in the martial arts always comes in handy. She sweeps bad guys off their feet and knocks the living daylights out of them. She doesn’t need a weapon to combat heartless kingpins and their cronies. All she needs is a trigger to demonstrate her fighting prowess. In one word, she’s the epitome of awesomeness.

She believes that “courage is a word of justice. It means the quality of mind that enables one to face apprehension with confidence and resolution. It is not right to use it as an excuse to kill something.”

You should watch the anime or read the manga to appreciate her more.


Japanese name: 毛利 蘭
(Mouri Ran)

English name:

Rachel Moore

Age:

16-17

Gender:

Female

Height:

5’2″

Weight:

Unknown

Date of birth:

Unknown

Relatives:

Kogoro Mouri (father)
Eri Kisaki (mother)

Nicknames:

Ran-neechan (Conan)
Ran-kun (Agasa, Megure)
Ran-chan (Kazuha)
Angel (Vermouth)

21 Comments

Filed under Animé

21 responses to “Animé Character of the Day: RAN MOURI

  1. Your blog is so informative … keep up the good work!!!!

  2. My friend first found your blog on Google and she referred your blog to me.;;,,-

  3. I would really love to guest post on your blog.”,*`;

  4. I’m new to the concept of guest posting, but I think it’s a good avenue to promote both blogs. Fire away! You may send it over to my e-mail: chumshei@hotmail.com I might even guest post on your blog too! 🙂

  5. I think your blog is getting more and more visitors.-”-*

  6. Perhaps you should also a put a forum site on your blog to increase reader interaction.”‘:*;

  7. The thing i like about your blog is that you always post direct to the point info.’;–~

  8. I think your blog is getting more and more visitors.~*;’;

  9. Thanks for the great post on your blog, it really gives me an insight on this topic.,`”~~

  10. I am only writing to make you understand what a superb experience our princess undergone viewing yuor web blog. She picked up such a lot of things, with the inclusion of what it is like to possess an ideal teaching style to make the others without hassle thoroughly grasp specified tricky topics. You undoubtedly surpassed visitors’ expected results. Thanks for showing those valuable, trustworthy, revealing not to mention unique tips on your topic to Sandra.

  11. you’ve gotten an superb blog here! would you like to create some invite posts on my weblog?

Leave a Reply

