Life Is a Breath of Air

I didn’t know who AJ Perez was, so when I read sad tweets from local celebrities I’m following that he just died today, to Google I went. He was an actor working for ABS-CBN and was only eighteen years old. He died in a car accident when, on their way to Manila from Dagupan, their car got hit by a bus. One even retweeted his last tweet before the accident, and when I read it, goose bumps filled me. He was cheerful and happy. How could he have died when he still had his life ahead of him?

AJs last tweet. My heart goes out to AJs family. May his soul rest in peace.

It’s sad that we don’t know when our candle flame will be snuffed out. Sometimes we get too attached to mundane things that we forget life is only borrowed. It can be taken away at any time. Whether in our sleep, while working, over coffee break, tomorrow, today, minutes from now. And thank God we don’t know when because if we did, imagine how chaotic the world would be. I might end up in a mental institution with the thought of dying (and how) going over my mind every single minute, until the last minute. If anything, I’d still want to die sane.

To drive my point home, time is ticking. I often reprimand my boyfriend for his habit of putting off for tomorrow what could be done today. What if we won’t wake up in the morning because our time was up? What could be so disheartening than the regret of not being able to do what we wanted to do because we mistakenly thought we had all the time in the world?

Forgive now. Not tomorrow.

Say “I love you” to people you love. Or better yet, show it. Action still speaks louder than any word.

Dance in the rain. Bask in the sunshine.

Appreciate somebody who has done a good job. A pat on the back can do so much.

Smile. Laugh out loud. Fool around if you must.

Stop oversleeping. We have plenty of time to do that six feet under the ground.

Don’t overwork either. Sometimes we also need to stop awhile and notice the beauty around us and its priceless magnificence.

Let’s race to our dreams but savor every moment.

It’s confusing, I know. But that’s what makes life worth living.

Leave a comment

Filed under Values

Leave a Reply

