Ride the Wind

The month of May is an eventful time for most Filipinos. It’s when most provinces celebrate their respective fiestas, and where there’s fiesta, there you’ll definitely find carnivals. A place to enjoy and squander money.

The carnival I went to as a kid was different though. Perhaps the best term to use is circus because they had a variety to offer. There were girls with mermaid tail costumes. Of course, being a kid, I used to believe they were real mermaids. (There goes my bubble.)

There were also other types of strange people like a man who eats live chicken, a giant, a dwarf, and all that jazz. There was also the horror train or horror house, a magic house, plus unending line of stalls where you could gamble. Talk about variety.

The carnival I went to last Wednesday, however, had amazing rides and gambling stalls minus the strange people and magic. Too bad. It would have been a lot more fun.

I really wanted to try a rollercoaster, so when I saw one, there I went. It was an exhilarating two-round ride. After the first round, they would stop awhile and ask the riders if they’re up for a second round. I admire their consideration. Some people took off, looking shaken up. I, however, wanted to get my fifty bucks’ worth, so I went for the second round. It was really scary because with every descent, you’d feel like falling off your seat. The seat belt wasn’t tight enough, so if you didn’t hold tight to your seat, chances are you’ll get thrown off your seat! Thankfully, there were no untoward incident, except when I hit my head with the side of the seat. Then I got dizzy. It was the first and last ride I took for the night.

I took pictures of some of the rides. They’re still amazing.

The Hurricane

This is The Telecombat, I think.

Sea Dragon

Ferris Wheel

Bump Cars

Fire Chief

Swing, Swing

Butuan City’s fiesta is May 19. The carnival will be open until that day.

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

2 responses to “Ride the Wind

  1. Thanks for posting this cool article!

  2. I can’t seem to fully load this page from my droid!!!!

Leave a Reply

